Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Liverpool Library's
School Survival for Parents
This guide provides library and community resources available for parents partnering in their child's education. Liverpool Public Library is here to help you! If you are looking for materials or suggestions, please email, call, or stop in and see us.
Academic Databases - find information here
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Britannica Schools This link opens in a new window
Thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended web sites, and three separate databases for elementary, middle, or high school students. There is Read-aloud, a font size adjuster, and built-in translation tools support students with special needs and ELLs.
Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new window
Facts about plants, animals, people, geography, science, history, and more for middle and high school students. Includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary
NoveList Plus, K-8 This link opens in a new window
NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. With a fun and intuitive interface, NoveList K-8 Plus will help you support young readers by finding books by grade level, reading level or genre.
Research in Context This link opens in a new window
Resource for students in grades 6 to 8. Offers magazines, newspapers, primary sources, over 12,000 videos and more on a variety of topics. Supports national and state curriculum standards in language arts, social studies and science.
Testing & Education Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) provides in-depth information on colleges and universities, graduate and professional programs, distance learning, corporate training, scholarships and awards, preparatory entrance tests and much more. Available online practice tests include entrance exams, certification and licensing tests.
Courses - free for library patrons
An extensive collection of award-winning online courses and video tutorials to help you learn business, technical and creative skills.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Start the conversation in your choice of over 70 world languages and dialects through courses crafted using conversational methodology. Every self-paced language course introduces the learner to cultural insights and grammatical nuances specific to their language of choice, delivered through native speaker dialogue, and created with each individual learner in mind.
Webucator: Customized Instructor-led Training Services This link opens in a new window
Webucator's Self-paced Courses are for learners seeking the flexibility to learn at their own pace. Content is delivered online using videos, readings, quizzes and exercises. The courses are written and delivered by the same expert instructors that teach our Instructor-led Online classes.
Explore the Library Catalog
Discover, Learn, Grow
Culinary Arts Colleciton This link opens in a new window
Thousands of recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information from over 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines.
Audiobooks and Video Streaming
Libby by Overdrive
Extensive collection of audiobooks, e-books, and video. All free with your library card!
Instantly borrow digital movies, music, eBooks and more, 24/7 with your library card.
Writing a Research Paper (grades 7-12)
7th - 12th grade Research Skills & Writing
This guide will help Junior and Senior High School students understand the research process, identify scholarly sources, create a reference page, take notes, and more!